top of page
  • Writer's pictureSasha Krstić

Joijk ~ Emotion without words

When watching the joijk videos it is easy to be close minded and immediately assume I do not understand the context of the joijk because there is no language or it is a new cultural performance I have not seen. When watching the first joijk my first impression was that she was expressing some sort of journey. Her tone related to me as it seemed as she was expressing hardships or struggle. But it was also inspiring as she had this sense of determination in her face and voice. I settled with "every time she is knocked down she will rise." With the second video there was a sense of confidence and strength right from the start. I got the idea that she may have been expressing her self discovery and I eventually settled with "she knows who she is now."


Although I feel music is not exactly a language but it is an expression of everything language attempts to describe. Language allows people to communicate with each other in a way music cannot fully. In a way music expresses emotions in a way language cannot reach. Another expression of emotion is art. Paintings and pieces can express emotions in a depth that language cannot reach. A genre of paintings that does this is expressionism.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join my mailing list

  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2023 by DAILY ROUTINES. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page